go west

DSCN0543

I didn’t grow up in Nebraska. I didn’t live there until I started college, and only stuck around for five years. But somewhere in that time, even as I was plotting my escape, it snuck into a corner of my heart and stayed there.

I always figured New York would be temporary, but had no definite plans as to where I would end up after my time here was done. California sounded nice. Pacific northwest maybe? Somewhere else along the east coast?

Ultimately I decided moving back to the Midwest was the way to go, both because being halfway across the country from my family is harder than I thought it would be and because it’s the lifestyle I’m used to. But it wasn’t until I came across a job posting in Lincoln that the idea latched onto my brain: I want to be back in Nebraska.

And, a week from today, that’s exactly where I’ll be! Back to Willa Cather-land, prairie, and Cornhuskers. (And most importantly, back to affordable rent.)

 I don’t regret moving to New York, but I can’t say I’ll miss it. I’m ready to be a Midwesterner again, and to settle down somewhere I can see myself long term. After all, I’m officially out of my early twenties now, and the idea of flying wherever my fancy takes me has become less appealing.

So next time you see me on this blog, I’ll officially be a Nebraskan again. Go big red!

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Welcome home. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Instagram

    Jasmine and Mitchell. #guitar #ukulele #cantactuallyplayguitar #cansortofplayukulele Scenes from a foggy autumn walk. Couldn't see anything from the summit of foggy Snaefell, but I did get to see some Manx foam art. #snaefell #isleofman Rainy day in Peel. #peel #isleofman
  • Beth’s Cross-Stitching Blog

