exploring the cosmos

For no apparent reason I’ve suddenly decided I’m into cosmology. You guys, our universe is so freaking cool. I don’t really have a head for science or math, but it amazes me what the people who do have figured out about how our universe works and how it may have sprung into existence in the first place.

In addition to watching the documentary series Cosmos, hosted by astrophysicist Neil deGrasse Tyson, on Netflix (anyone who doesn’t think atheists are capable of awe hasn’t seen me freaking out while watching that show), I also picked up some reading material at the library.

DSCN1350

The Manga Guide to the Universe by Kenji Ishikawa & Kiyoshi Kawabata and A Universe from Nothing by Lawrence M. Krauss

I was a little bit disappointed by The Manga Guide to the Universe; oddly enough, I didn’t think there was enough manga! The majority of the scientific information is written in a more traditional book format, and the parts that were written as manga didn’t really do anything for me. But, it did give a good, basic overview of modern cosmology and was written in simple language that was easy to understand.

I heard about A Universe from Nothing while watching the documentary The Unbelievers on Netflix. I’ll be honest, a good chunk of it went over my head, but the parts I did understand (it helped that I had read the manga book and watched some episodes of Cosmos first) were so cool.

By the way, tardigrades (aka water bears!) are my new favorite animal.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

  • Instagram

    #light Cross-stitching and listening to folk music: probaby the most relaxing activity on the planet. #crossstitching Jasmine and Mitchell. #guitar #ukulele #cantactuallyplayguitar #cansortofplayukulele Scenes from a foggy autumn walk.
  • Beth’s Cross-Stitching Blog

