rockefeller center christmas tree lighting

DSCN1115

When I inadvertently found out the Rockefeller Center Christmas tree lighting ceremony was on Wednesday night, I made the last-minute decision to go see it. I was going to go straight from work, but I actually got to leave a little early! And I was glad to have the 20-minute head start, because holy crowded, Batman!

DSCN1105

At first I only had a tiny peek of the tree around the corner of a building, but through the magic of Christmas (and several people near the front giving up and leaving), I gradually got to scoot up closer and eventually ended up with a great straight-on view.

DSCN1108

I also got to hear (to say “I saw” would be inaccurate–I wasn’t even sure where the stage was in relation to where I was standing) some great performances by Leann Rimes, Seth McFarland, Idina Menzel, Lady Gaga, Ingrid Michaelson, etc. etc.

It’s so strange to me that I was *thisclose* to these celebrities but couldn’t even see them, not even on a TV screen (there were screens set up for the crowds, but of course I wasn’t able to see any of them from where I was standing). Not seeing also kind of sucked when it came time for the Rockettes to perform.

But, I guess it was worth this rocking view:

DSCN1120

That’s five miles of lights, guys.

Did you see the tree lighting on TV (or in person)? Any cool performance visuals I missed?

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. gaylelorraine

     /  December 5, 2014

    What a fantastic, once-in-a-lifetime experience!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Bloglovin’Twitter Pinterest EmailFlickrGoogle Plus

  • Hello! Welcome to the little bit of everything that is The Purple Notebook.

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

  • what i’m reading

  • Beth’s Cross-Stitching Blog

