october blogging challenge 20: a day in the life

5:00 am to 5:00 pm today weren’t that different from my last day in the life. I got up, tooled around on the internet, and went to work (which was nonstop crazy today–hello Monday).

But then, instead of heading straight home or picking up a quick dinner, I headed to midtown (at least I think it was midtown–I’m still a little sketchy on my NYC neighborhoods) to catch drinks with a Meetup.com group. I had a beer that I can’t remember the name of, which is unfortunate because I really liked it, and some pretty fantastic bruschetta. Only three of us turned up, probably because it was Monday, but that just gave it a more relaxing, beers-on-a-Monday feeling (I love that feeling).

I hadn’t noticed it on my way to the bar, because it was behind me, but walking down Lexington Avenue on my way back to the train home there was the Chrysler Building smack-dab in front of me, all lit up. I thought I had already fallen in love with this city, but I fell pretty hard right then and there. I had to keep reminding myself to watch where I was going instead of keeping my head up so I could stare at it.

I popped into a deli and paid more than anyone should pay for a box of cookies (excuse me, “European biscuits”). I nearly stepped on a mouse on the sidewalk, which killed the NYC magic a little, got on my train and came home.

 

October Blogging Challenge 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

  • Bloglovin’Twitter Pinterest EmailFlickrGoogle Plus

  • Hello! Welcome to the little bit of everything that is The Purple Notebook.

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

  • what i’m reading

  • Beth’s Cross-Stitching Blog

