october blogging challenge 5: your top five favorite movies

It was a little harder to narrow this down to five than I thought it would be; and if I look back on this post in a week, I’ll have probably changed my mind on the way I ordered these films by then. Anyways, here are my top five, I’m-in-the-mood-to-watch-something-I’ve-already-seen-a-thousand-times-so-this-is-what-I-reach-for movies:

5. Bridget Jones’s Diary

MV5BMTkwMDIwNzI0Nl5BMl5BanBnXkFtZTgwNDU1MjEyMDE@._V1_SX214_AL_

Even though this movie relies on a few too many romantic comedy cliches, I just can’t seem to get tired of it. Maybe because it’s loosely based on Pride and Prejudice, or because it’s British. Also, Colin Firth–will you marry my mom? (What? He’s too old for me.)

4. Clueless

MV5BMTgxODIxODE2MF5BMl5BanBnXkFtZTgwOTA4NjQxMTE@._V1_SY500_SX338_

Another fantastic romantic comedy. (Also based on a Jane Austen book; I guess I have a thing for that?) Anytime I need a pick-me-up this colorful, nineties-tastic film is sure to do the trick.

3. How to Train Your Dragon

MV5BMjA5NDQyMjc2NF5BMl5BanBnXkFtZTcwMjg5ODcyMw@@._V1_SX214_AL_

Could there BE a more endearing animated feature? I will forever mourn the day this movie lost the best animated film Oscar to Toy Story 3.

2. Whip It

MV5BNDM1NzkzMjQ4NF5BMl5BanBnXkFtZTcwMDE3Nzk3Mg@@._V1_SX640_SY720_

Roller derby. Enough said.

And finally, my number one favorite movie, which will not come as a surprise to anyone who knows has met me, is:

1. The Avengers

MV5BMTk2NTI1MTU4N15BMl5BanBnXkFtZTcwODg0OTY0Nw@@._V1_SY317_CR0,0,214,317_AL_

Action! Comedy! Romance! Robert Downey Jr.! Really, it’s the perfect movie.

This might be cheating the blog challenge a little bit, but since it was so hard to pick just five movies I decided to throw in some honorable mentions: Little Miss Sunshine, Girls Just Want to Have Fun, Scott Pilgrim vs. the World, and Tangled.

What are your favorite movies?

 

October Blogging Challenge 1, 2, 3, 4

Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. I love Clueless and Bridget Jones, and I’ve been wanting to watch Whip It for absolutely ages! I can’t say I’m really an Avengers fan though, unless we’re talking about the old mystery TV programme!

    Owl Girl | A London lifestyle blog

    Like

    Reply
  2. gaylelorraine

     /  October 5, 2014

    Honey, I tried the Colin Firth thing, remember? He’s gay. All the good ones are. Maybe if I turn myself into a man…….

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Bloglovin’Twitter Pinterest EmailFlickrGoogle Plus

  • Hello! Welcome to the little bit of everything that is The Purple Notebook.

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

  • what i’m reading

  • Beth’s Cross-Stitching Blog

