october blogging challenge 4: explain the story behind your blog name

In my closet, nestled with some folders with things like “student loans” and “401(k)” written on them, is–you guessed it–a purple notebook.

This notebook is full of what I call “bits”–random pieces of writing, mostly dialogue or interior monologue, most without any sort of context.

See, I’ve always fancied myself as somewhat of a writer, ever since I wrote my first “book” in elementary school. (I wrote a story about two dogs that get lost and find their way back home–original, right?) On and off throughout my life I’ve always grabbed onto and given up on the idea of someday writing a novel.

Anyways, whether I’m a “writer” or not I’ve always got ideas swirling about in my head. Ideas for plots, turns of phrases, witty dialogue (I think it’s witty, anyway, or is that a bit conceited?), etc. And these ideas, these bits of prose, even a small poem now and then, get put into my purple notebook, whether they are part of a larger story or not (some are, but most aren’t).

The reason I named this blog after my writing notebook is because I started it with the idea of pushing myself as a writer, of going beyond the bits in a notebook. In the beginning I even shared some of these bits on the blog, but I began to get a bit too embarrassed about that so I stopped. (And don’t try to go back and find them, either–I deleted them.)

Do you have a blog? How did you come up with your blog’s name? Do you keep a writing notebook?

 

October Blogging Challenge 1, 2, 3

Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. gaylelorraine

     /  October 4, 2014

    You absolutely, positively, with no doubt about it, need to write. Whatever form your writing takes, you have a gift and with gifts come responsibility. You have a responsibility to share your gift and make the world a better place.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Bloglovin’Twitter Pinterest EmailFlickrGoogle Plus

  • Hello! Welcome to the little bit of everything that is The Purple Notebook.

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

  • what i’m reading

  • Beth’s Cross-Stitching Blog

