Five Classics to Reread

I admit, sometimes the only reason I’ll pick up a piece of classic literature is because I feel like I “have” to read it. (And sometimes I really did have to read it, for school.) I suffered through The Scarlet Letter. I couldn’t finish Robinson Crusoe or Silas Marner. I have no idea what was going on in Naked Lunch. But sometimes, a book grabs you and you’re no longer reading it because you feel obligated, but because you actually want to.

I’m a pretty big rereader when it comes to books I love, and lately I’ve been toying with the idea of rereading these particular classics:

The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald

??????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????

I don’t want to reread this just because of the recent movie remake. Okay, it is mostly because of the recent movie remake. But also, I haven’t read The Great G since high school (I actually did have to read it then), which means I hardly remember reading it in the first place, and I’d like to see how I interpret it as someone with a fancy literature degree and not as a dumb sixteen-year-old.

Catcher in the Rye by J.D. Salinger

5107

Again, it’s been so long I barely remember reading it the first time, but I do remember that I loved this book when I read it in high school. I dig coming-of-age stories; the angst-ier the better.

Watership Down by Richard Adams

?????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????

Because rabbits.

Jane Eyre by Charlotte Brontë

?????????????????????????????????????????????????????

Ever read a book that makes you feel all the feelings? That was Jane Eyre for me.

And, of course:

Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen

????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????

Oh, Jane. Even though P&P isn’t my favorite of her novels (that award would go to Emma, which I’ve already reread recently), it’s definitely a good one. And since there will probably never be an end to different adaptations, it would probably be wise to keep the story fresh in mind.

What are your favorite classics?

Previous Post
Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. The Catcher in the rye, timeless. Great taste you have

    Erik
    http://erikconover.com

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Bloglovin’Twitter Pinterest EmailGoogle Plus

  • Hello! Welcome to the little bit of everything that is The Purple Notebook.

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

  • Instagram

    Couldn't see anything from the summit of foggy Snaefell, but I did get to see some Manx foam art. #snaefell #isleofman Rainy day in Peel. #peel #isleofman Another old photo, taken while wandering around Brooklyn. #bike #brooklyn Finally got around to organizing my old photos. A bunch from my time in NYC, including some graffiti shots on the Manhattan Bridge. #NYC #newyork #graffiti
  • what i’m reading

  • Beth’s Cross-Stitching Blog

