Cocktail of the Month: Old Fashioned | + Big News!

Image

Let’s talk about the S word.

No, not that S word, you dirty birds. I’m talking about “should.” And its relative, “shouldn’t.”

You should get a full-time job and earn a decent living.
You shouldn’t leave your current job without another one lined up.
You shouldn’t move to New York City, even though it’s your dream—it’s too expensive and it’s too impractical.

The saddest part is, none of these shoulds or shouldn’ts were even coming from someone else, or any sort of recognizable source. The only person they were coming from was me.

And now, guess what? I’m ditching all of them.

I’m leaving my job. I don’t have another job lined up. And I’m going to move to New York City.

This is either going to be the stupidest thing I’ve ever done, or it’s gonna be really freakin’ great.

You know what goes really well with major life decisions? Whiskey.

ImageImage

I decided on an Old Fashioned for this month’s cocktail. After making such a huge decision, I needed something strong. I’ll admit, I wasn’t as big a fan of this one as some of the other cocktails I’ve made from See Mix Drink. Probably because it’s mostly straight-up bourbon, and whiskey for me is one of those “if I’m not careful I’ll spend the entire next day in the fetal position living on saltines and Gatorade” liquors.

But, it wasn’t bad. I can imagine sipping one of these at a classy party or a jazz bar. Of which I’m sure there are plenty in New York City.

In less dramatic news, I’m now the proud owner of a Captain America T-shirt and a cardigan with bicycles on it. (Thanks, Target!)

Previous Post
Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Gayle

     /  April 20, 2014

    “It’s better to have made decisions that turned out badly and learn from them than to feel as if you had no choice and are resentful of the turns your life has taken.” ~Susan Sarandon

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Instagram

    #light Cross-stitching and listening to folk music: probaby the most relaxing activity on the planet. #crossstitching Jasmine and Mitchell. #guitar #ukulele #cantactuallyplayguitar #cansortofplayukulele Scenes from a foggy autumn walk.
  • Beth’s Cross-Stitching Blog

