A Weekend of Cooking

Image

Image

Image

This weekend I decided would be a good time for some kitchen experimenting. I went to the ol’ recipe board on Pinterest and found two recipes I’ve been wanting to try for a while.

On Friday night I made a “Spicy” Shrimp Corn Chowder. I put spicy in quotes because I used less than half of the recommended amount of chili powder, because I am a total wimp when it comes to these things. (I’m also guessing that’s why my soup turned out green when the picture in the recipe post is red?) Other than that I didn’t change a thing, and I ended up with a pretty darn good bowl of soup.

Image

Then on Saturday/Sunday (pie crust dough on Saturday, filling on Sunday) I decided to make Peach, Rose, and Basil Hand Pies (minus the rose, which I couldn’t find), because guess what? I completely forgot about pie day on Friday!! Luckily I had a frozen turkey pot pie for lunch, so I was covered. But I decided to make up for it anyway with something more dessert-y.

Image

I was going to make more pies, but after the first batch filled my apartment with smoke and set the smoke alarm off, I got a little gun shy and decided I didn’t need a second batch after all.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

  • Instagram

    Beer in Liberty. #Beer #rockandrun #downtownliberty #light Cross-stitching and listening to folk music: probaby the most relaxing activity on the planet. #crossstitching Jasmine and Mitchell. #guitar #ukulele #cantactuallyplayguitar #cansortofplayukulele
  • Beth’s Cross-Stitching Blog

