Banned Books Week

I stumbled across this article yesterday, and I realized I made it almost to the end of the week without acknowledging my favorite holiday, Banned Books Week! The article talks about Eleanor & Park by Rainbow Rowell, which is near the top of my to-read list. Here are some of my favorite banned/challenged books of all time:

His Dark Materials by Philip Pullman (my all-time favorite any book ever!)

The Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky

The Catcher in the Rye by J.D. Salinger

The Giver by Lois Lowry

Angus, Thongs and Full-Frontal Snogging by Louise Rennison (which I read out loud during my school’s Banned Books readout last year!)

banned books

(I’m not quite sure why I’m making that face. Must be something in the book.)

Are You There God? It’s Me, Margaret by Judy Blume

The Satanic Verses by Salman Rushdie

Those are just a few of many wonderful banned/challenged books I’ve read over the years. Check out the American Library Association’s website for more banned book lists.

What are some of your favorite banned books?

Previous Post
Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. Gayle

     /  September 28, 2013

    I checked the list from 2012-2013 and I was shocked to find 8 books I’ve read (and I own most of them). Would never guess someone would try to ban them. Silly people. Here’s my list: Nickel and Dimed, The Handmaid’s Tale, The Kite Runner, Beloved, A Child Called It, The Glass Castle (remember hearing Jeanette Walls?), Romeo and Juliet (loved it in high school – got to see the movie, too), and A Thousand Acres.

    Like

    Reply
  2. I’ve taught The Handmaid’s Tale for years, and I’m still holding my breath for the parent challenge that is certain to arise one day. I had one parent challenge The Secret Life of Bees, which really surprised me.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Bloglovin’Twitter Pinterest EmailGoogle Plus

  • Hello! Welcome to the little bit of everything that is The Purple Notebook.

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

  • Instagram

    Couldn't see anything from the summit of foggy Snaefell, but I did get to see some Manx foam art. #snaefell #isleofman Rainy day in Peel. #peel #isleofman Another old photo, taken while wandering around Brooklyn. #bike #brooklyn Finally got around to organizing my old photos. A bunch from my time in NYC, including some graffiti shots on the Manhattan Bridge. #NYC #newyork #graffiti
  • what i’m reading

  • Beth’s Cross-Stitching Blog

