Book Review: The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society

Image

The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society by Mary Ann Shaffer and Annie Barrows

When my book club picked this to read, I didn’t think I was really going to get into it (or be able to remember what it was called). Well, it didn’t take very long for me to become completely smitten with this book (or to memorize the title).

The story is told entirely in letters, which isn’t usually my cup of tea, but the authors were able to do what most authors who use varying perspectives can’t–subtly make each voice sound different. (Maybe it helped that there were two authors instead of one?)

Anywhos, this is the perfect book for people who like to read so much that they enjoy reading about reading. Also, the accounts of the characters’ experiences during WWII are very human and very moving, without hitting you over the head screaming, “I AM VERY MOVING.”

Oh, and I may or may not have wept a little after I finished reading.

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. This one snuck up on me too. I wasn’t expecting to like it but it was SO good! Which reminds me, I do want to re-read it sometime soon.

    Like

    Reply
  1. On a Lighter Note | Rebecca Nolen's Blog

Leave a Reply

  • Instagram

    Jasmine and Mitchell. #guitar #ukulele #cantactuallyplayguitar #cansortofplayukulele Scenes from a foggy autumn walk. Couldn't see anything from the summit of foggy Snaefell, but I did get to see some Manx foam art. #snaefell #isleofman Rainy day in Peel. #peel #isleofman
  • Beth’s Cross-Stitching Blog

